Logged in as Guest, please register | 25 July 2014 - 19:15:17 (843) GMT 1
Users online: 0
 
 
Guests online: 222
Total online: 222
Guestbook
Guestbook
Events
Notification
Messages
Messages
 
Latest Topics
<  How do I produce?  |   Page 1 of 4 | Jump To >> | Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
How do you "work" on hi-hats?
Mastaguru
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 12:42:20 (571)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.05
Posts: 103
Hi mate...
What effects do you put on your hi hats?
A 'lil delay? Reverb? What else? What's the best way?
Do you compress hi-hats? What are the values of the comp you use?
It's the same for open and closed one or you threat them in different way?
Tnx in advance to all you...

PEACE


Last edited by Mastaguru on 31 May 2007 - 12:59:32 (583); edited 1 time in total
Back to top
JP06
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 12:54:58 (579)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 34.35
Posts: 1010
Personally a little tube saturation + plate reverb. This goes for open hats too.
Back to top
Mastaguru
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 13:07:43 (588)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.05
Posts: 103
Tnx JP06...
I've heard that a little delay can help...what you think about?

PEACE
Back to top
limevisioN^
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 13:14:54 (593)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 27.65
Posts: 4234
I like using S1 Stereo Imager on some hats and claps, by pulling the "stereo image" on the background u can blend prettymuch any percussion. probably not the best way nor the right way to do it, but it works for me thumbsup
Back to top
limevisioN^ in soviet russia status updates you ! :|
Mastaguru
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 13:16:27 (594)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.05
Posts: 103
limevisioN^ wrote:
I like using S1 Stereo Imager thumbsup


Where can i find it?

Tnx
Back to top
micra_power
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 13:35:07 (607)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 144.95
Posts: 12363
Compression.

That's it.

_________________

www.twitter.com/willmau5
Will B: Upgrade 2010: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PdnSXdrn_rs
Back to top
micra_power has retired from trance.
Mastaguru
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 13:49:44 (617)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.05
Posts: 103
micra_power wrote:
Compression.

That's it.


Tnx Micra...
I've tried with C1 Comp...but the sound i reach is not what i want...
What are the values to use to compress hi hats?
Tnx so much
Back to top
DanSunshineDahl
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 15:49:41 (701)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 43.90
Posts: 5277
micra_power wrote:
Compression.

That's it.

Macker's gonna have a field day... grin
Back to top
Heaven
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 16:34:06 (732)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 110.80
Posts: 3955
well it totally depends what you are after doesn't it? just a plain hihat or a loop that you want panned with hihat elements in it etc.

_________________


www.myspace.com/maxcasen
Back to top
djwildefire
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 18:16:53 (803)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 38.85
Posts: 3300
Depends on what I'm looking for. Definitely compression. I normally make a separate channel for my hats so I can process them separately from other stuff. A lot of times I'll at least use some autopan on my hats as well as compression. Anything else besides that really just depends on what I'm looking for them to sound like. As for reverb, it really depends where you want the hats to sit in the mix and how many other hi freq elements you have cuz you don't wanna muddy things up.

_________________
8 Seasons Recordings
http://www.8seasons.org
Back to top
djwildefire is at his best.
Idonotlikebroccoli
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 18:51:56 (827)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 34.90
Posts: 6640
A little bitcrusher on hihats can sound really good. Other than that, I usually just add a little reverb and sometimes delay.

_________________
Music production blog: www.rognalf.com
Music showcase: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8T2ipY28bk
Tr°ndertrall EP - 15 remixes(!) & remix pack: http://trance.nu/v4/forum/viewtopic.php?t=157606
Back to top
Idonotlikebroccoli "Sama" by Ishq: Maybe my new favourite album of 2010.
Macker
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 20:54:49 (913)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 109.50
Posts: 8105
D2 wrote:
micra_power wrote:
Compression.

That's it.

Macker's gonna have a field day... grin


argh! Hi hat samples aren't going to get any louder if you're triggering the same ones over and over unless you're varying the velocity of each one every single time. once you've set the volume you need for them, just leave them without compression

Myself, for hi hats - I just pick a nice little pallete of hi hats and make them play simple rhythms, and pan each one accordingly. Reverb I sometimes might use a tiny little bit, probably a short plate reverb. I *MIGHT* use a delay, but the chances are I wont.

_________________
Intel Q6600 | 4GB Crucial Balistix RAM | Nvidia XFX GeForce 8800 GTS | 1TB+ Storage | MOTU 828MKII | Presonus Tube Pre | Rode NT1a | SM Pro Audio M-Patch 2 | Blue Sky Media Desk 2.1 | Novation KS Rack | Cubase 5 | Reason 3
Back to top
Macker Goodbye trance.nu. You shall be missed
Mastaguru
PostPosted: 31 May 2007 - 22:12:28 (966)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 10.05
Posts: 103
Many tnx Macker...very complete expaination!
PEACE
Back to top
Earthraeder
PostPosted: 01 June 2007 - 01:08:32 (089)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 23.20
Posts: 414
Well first, I add a low pass filter, followed by some room reverb and some dotted 8ths delay. Then i add a compressor with maximum value. Cut all low frequencies, and automate the lp filter.

The sample must be pretty noisy.
Back to top
Macker
PostPosted: 01 June 2007 - 01:27:48 (102)  Reply with quote
T.nu Member

Karma: 109.50
Posts: 8105
why do you add a compressor. and what the fuck is "maximum value"?

_________________
Intel Q6600 | 4GB Crucial Balistix RAM | Nvidia XFX GeForce 8800 GTS | 1TB+ Storage | MOTU 828MKII | Presonus Tube Pre | Rode NT1a | SM Pro Audio M-Patch 2 | Blue Sky Media Desk 2.1 | Novation KS Rack | Cubase 5 | Reason 3
Back to top
Macker Goodbye trance.nu. You shall be missed
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT + 4 Hours

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 4 | Click to jump to page >>
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
trance.nu Forum Index  |  How do I produce?

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 



Powered by phpBB